Another weekend passes unscathed…..almost.

So it’s Monday, which means another weekend under our belt. Saturday was not so bad. We started our day at 6 a.m. giving out medicine. Then I let them go back to sleep for an hour. When we got up at 7 everybody had there chores to do. Packing to go to my dads for the night like we do every Saturday. It started out that we went to my dads on Sat. because we wanted to help with taking care of Donald my dads girlfriends brother who had brain cancer. We would cook his favorite foods and help him go places when he needed and generally keep him company. After he died sadly, we kept coming over to keep my dad company.

We (Angel and I) cook dinner together for everybody,(about 6 people) while Amber hangs out with my dad(she’s the tomboy) helping him fix things or build things. Amber’s favorite thing to do with my dad is run errands. I think she likes being with him so much because he doesn’t fuss with her. I am kinda like please be still, please be quiet and all because I am always worried that she will aggravate someone. Trust me she has.

So Saturday we went to my dads for around 9:30 so Amber could go with my dad to pick up Jimmy his all around handy man. My dads getting on in age and he cant do some of the things he used to so that’s where Jimmy comes in he can do almost anything and he usually can use the work and my dad can use the help. This weekend he was here to fix Dennis (my dads girl friends other brother) closet and his cabinet in his bathroom. Amber likes Jimmy because he lets her help, retrieving tools and throwing things out and little things she can do. It’s nice. Angel and I spent some time in my dads living room before we had to go to Walmart to pick up the ingredients to make dinner.This weekend it was going to be tacos.

Saturday night Jimmy, Amber, my dad and Dennis watched some t.v. together for a while then they took Jimmy home. I guess I should explain a little about Jimmy because you will hear more about him. My dad met him through a guy at his eagles club. He asked who knew someone who could help with general things around the house and some mechanic work and another member suggested Jimmy. Which he has been a god send not just to my dad because he can do almost anything, but because he is so nice to Ami and it keeps he happy and quiet for a while and out of my hair. I know it sounds mean but if I didn’t get a break sometime I would snap. Amber can get on your last nerve. Anyway Jimmy lives in boarding house with like 3 other people. He has a brother but they don’t get along, and since Jimmy is not to much younger than my dad they mesh real good. My dad get’s work done and someone to hang out with.

Now it was time for Angie and I to go to walmart. Shopping was pretty easy get in shop get out. Cooking although usually isn’t that hard some how this time proved to be a big huge challenge between me and angie. She didn’t want to cook and she didn’t want me to cook either. She stomped around the kitchen, screamed, yelled and wouldn’t let me get any work done for at least 2 hours. I tried explaining to her that we needed to cook dinner and then she could do what ever she wanted to and it was a no go. I tried including her in the process like I always do, even gave her her own cutting board and small knife, nope. I said,”look angie you cant throw a fit like this people are trying to relax and your way to loud.” she didn’t care. Finally I said,”ok well I am going to start cooking without you, when the nice girl wants to come back she can help.” and I let her continue throwing a fit and acted like she wasn’t. I have learned that ignoring her sometimes works because she isn’t getting to help and she loves that because then she can say,”I helped” After about another half hour she sat down at the table and looked at me to see if I was going to say something like,”awww angie I am so glad you stopped throwing a fit” I wasn’t going to do that. If I make a big deal out of it she’ll think she can do it all the time and I don’t want that. Finally we had dinner cooked and ready. Fit one had and handled.

Sunday we got up around 7 for medicine and then got dressed and Angie and I started to cook breakfast. fried eggs sausage and cornbread. Amber went to get Jimmy with my dad and then get coffee like they always do when they need him. After they got Jimmy I asked Amber to come in the kitchen and eat something because with her medicine she needs to eat or it makes her sick and she refused and because I said,”ok then you can’t help Jimmy” she threw a fit and threw her shoes and jacket and her juice.  After I calmed her down and made her clean up her mess (oh yes she doesn’t get treated like a baby) she finally ate something, even though it was small it was something. Fit two, had and handled.

 

 

 

 

 

About amiandtatasmom

Single mom with 2 special needs children just trying to not let the universe kick my ass and raise them at the same time. It doesn't always work but we survive....sometimes.
This entry was posted in special needs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

